

THE HIGHLAND GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY

Scottish Charity No. SC004427

MINUTES of the ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING held at Millburn Academy, Inverness, on Wednesday 17th February 2016

CHAIRPERSON Alan Thompson took the chair at 19:35 and welcomed all those present.

- 1. APOLOGIES were received from Karen Deans, Pam Draper, David Jarman, Eddie Lynch, and Janet Trythall.
- 2. THE MINUTES of the AGM held on Wednesday 25th February 2016 had been distributed to members prior to the meeting. The acceptance of the Minutes was proposed by Peter Christie and seconded by Peter Reynolds; these were duly signed as correct. There were no matters arising.

3. TRUSTEES REPORT 2015

Each year the Society submits a Trustees report to OSCR. This contains basic information about the Society, the Trustees, and a very brief summary of the year's activities. In addition the Chair produces an annual report which provides more detail on our activities. This had been circulated in advance and the Chair summarised its main points. He noted in particular the number of members who had enthusiastically contributed talks or led field trips in the previous year. He also mentioned the field trip to the Garvellachs and the excellent help given at short notice by Tony Spencer. Finally, the sad death of society stalwart Peter Webster was also noted and his widow was thanked for the very generous donation that was subsequently made to the society.

There were no matters arising.

4. TREASURER'S REPORT

The Chairperson went on to present the accounts for the previous year. A good surplus for the year was recorded, partly due to lower speaker/leader costs, and also due to the donation received as mentioned above. There was thus no pressure to change membership fees. It was also noted that the accounts did not yet show the monies received as Gift Aid and that this would appear in the accounts for 2016.

Again, there were no matters arising.

5. ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS

Stephen Young proposed that Alan Thompson be re-elected as Chair for a second term (the Chairperson is elected every two years) and this was seconded by Ann Reynolds.

Peter Christie proposed that the rest of the committee be elected *en bloc* and this was seconded by Peter Reynolds.

Alison Wright will thus continue as Hon. Secretary, Rhona Fraser as Hon. Treasurer and Andy Leggatt as website manager, with John Adamson, Anne Cockroft, Eddie Lynch, Ann Reynolds, and Stephen Young continuing to serve as committee members.

6. AOCB

- (i) Dave Longstaff suggested that our secure financial position should encourage us to recruit a stellar speaker for an event at a larger venue (e.g. the new UHI campus in Inverness) and several names were put forward. The Secretary agreed to investigate this further.
- (ii) The Secretary noted that Facebook had been suggested as a means of improving communication with members (and a wider audience) but that a volunteer would be needed to take this forward should we move into the realm of social media.

There being no other business, the meeting was closed at 7.50 pm.

The formal meeting was followed by a presentation to Peter Christie of a sandstone clock to thank him for his long-term commitment to the society. Peter spent 16 years as Chairperson, providing leadership and direction to the society, before actively recruiting his replacement so that he could resign with a clear conscience. Peter was delighted with the clock and reminded members that he had spent so long as Chair because he wanted to and that he very much enjoyed getting out in the field with the society.

The floor was then given to Andy Moffatt for a most interesting talk about his discovery of a deposit of gem-quality zircon at Badcall and its subsequent removal by unscrupulous mineral collectors.